Our state association, the Florida Professional Photographers, held it’s Fall Seminar onboard the Royal Caribbean cruise liner, Enchantment of the Sea this week. We left Port Canaveral Monday morning for the Bahamas, and returned Friday.

Presenting a fabulous block of education for the FPP, was the famed Tallahassee photographer, Kira Derryberry, on WordPress, websites, blogs, and SEO.  Kira will also be an instructor at the Florida Photography Workshops in Daytona this year, so if you haven’t signed up for her class, I highly encourage you to do so.

Enchantment of the Sea, from Cococay, Bahamas.

Enchantment of the Sea, from Cococay, Bahamas.

Although I’ve photographed corporate events aboard cruise ships in the past, they were always docked, so I’d never been on a cruise before, this was my first. I have to say that I really enjoyed myself. It was a very positive experience, so I concluded that only the bad ones make the news.

We hit Cococay for a day, then Nassau a day. Cococay was a dream, Nassau was only good for having lunch at Senor Frogs. I’m sure there were other things to do (Atlantis, etc), but the Straw Market and the tourist district is meh. Our days on the sea were awesome, and well worth the trip.

Cococay, Bahamas

Cococay, Bahamas

I didn’t take as many pics as I thought I would, but a few were all I really needed to remind me why I want/should go back again.

Then there was this guy…

Feed me!

Feed me!

Congratulations and Thank You to all involved in putting this together, not the least of which was my own DW and FPP Executive Director, Kaye Newsome; FPP President, Cindy Strickland; vacation guru, travel agent, and owner of www.yourvacationlinker.com, Josh Linker; and to our terrific speaker, Kira Derryberry, who will be a featured instructor at this year’s Florida Photography Workshops in Daytona this coming June!

Leave a Reply

